Kali Yug Express: a promised Beach Novel

Looks like we may be running out of summer. Now I may not get to the beach to relax in sand (a pain anyway, gets into books & notebooks, yikes!), but I remember as I watch the rain fall outside that I had promised a serial “roman d’été” or  “beach novel” on NOMADICS blog this summer in the tradition of French & German daily and weekly newspapers. Well, here … Read more Kali Yug Express: a promised Beach Novel

Roger Manderscheid (1933-2010)

And the Memorial Day occasion stretches on: news just in that the Luxembourg writer Roger Manderscheid, an old & dear friend, died on Tuesday night. Of the generation just preceding mine, he was the most prolific, radical, engaged, political, satirical, and plain humorous poet, novelist, playwright in both the German and the Luxembourg languages, as well as being a superb visual artist. His 1988 novel schacko klak, written in … Read more Roger Manderscheid (1933-2010)

THE TIDE'S IN!

Just out! Excellent first issue of a new online magazine of the arts — check it out. The Inaugural Spring 2010 Issue of the Tidal Basin Review is available for online viewing here. The Tidal Basin Review is electronic literary journal with a print-on-demand option that seeks to amplify the voice of the human experience through art that is intimate, engaging, and audacious. We make every effort to include … Read more THE TIDE'S IN!

Fee Dawson's Great Day

Back from Chicago, and from a day of teaching at Albany, and maybe it was the coffee while driving back, or the hours of doing taxes after that, but woke up after one hour of sleep at 2:30 with acute insomnia. Used it to reread a book that had just arrived in the mail: Fielding Dawson’s 1973 classic A Great Day for a Ball Game, just reissued by David … Read more Fee Dawson's Great Day

Pierre Joris and Sanjay Agnihotri Reading

Tomorrow, in Brooklyn! ¥ P R O S E   P R O S  … 3rd Season ¥ Pierre Joris and Sanjay Agnihotri SIDEWALK CAFÉ Thursday, December 3, 2009 Come early to get a seat & order from the terrific menu Reading starts at 6:30 p.m. sharp Sidewalk Café, 94 Avenue A at 6th Street, 212-473-7373 V or F to Second Avenue (exit at First Avenue) Pierre Joris—poet, editor, translator, … Read more Pierre Joris and Sanjay Agnihotri Reading