Kali Claude Yug Pélieu Express 3

Claude Pélieu : KALI YUG EXPRESS Translated by Mary Beach (continued…) HOT LEAD IN THE HEDGE OF STARS Horizons, arrows, flexible clouds, silent gestures describing the generation that was sitting on the electrified fence, clouds broken by the light breeze, electronic music flattening the wheat, screams poured into the Echo-Death dossier. The primroses and the forget-me-nots have disappeared. Must we tell you that nothing happens just like  that, simply? … Read more Kali Claude Yug Pélieu Express 3

Kali Claude Yug Pélieu Express 2

Claude Pélieu : KALI YUG EXPRESS Translated by Mary Beach (continued…) And the others? Where are they? They’re stomping somewhere. Ten years, fifteen years already… everything happens… filmed echoes, morphine, hot bath, I’m raining, and the invisible stains of our generation explode — westerns and technologic counterpoints — a bathtub, an old hotel in Chinatown, a door open or shut… old sneers… North Beach, City Lights, a new world-consciousness, … Read more Kali Claude Yug Pélieu Express 2

Kali Yug Express: a promised Beach Novel

Looks like we may be running out of summer. Now I may not get to the beach to relax in sand (a pain anyway, gets into books & notebooks, yikes!), but I remember as I watch the rain fall outside that I had promised a serial “roman d’été” or  “beach novel” on NOMADICS blog this summer in the tradition of French & German daily and weekly newspapers. Well, here … Read more Kali Yug Express: a promised Beach Novel

Homage & Good-Bye to Tuli Kupferberg

On Saturday a Tuli Kupferberg homage was held at Saint Marks in the Bowery’s Poetry Project. The Fugs performed a number of Tuli’s songs, and some 40 plus people spoke or read to honor Tuli, in the very full hall. Below, my amateurish recording of the Fugs doing a Tuli song (an extract, really), and below that my translation of the 1969 Claude Pélieu poem dedicated to Tuli, which … Read more Homage & Good-Bye to Tuli Kupferberg